24\" crack repair?

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
CGlenn

RLI

Post by CGlenn »

I saw a guy in a grocery store parking lot today advertising "we fix what others won't" ...or something like that. Plastered all over his windows was "24 inch crack repair" Since I am new to this all, I wanted to know if that is a repair that will be covered by insurance? (I was under the assumption that insurance will cover cracks up to 6"). Also if you complete this long of a repair, is it likely to result in a good looking, and effective repair?

Since this is my firs real post, I want to thank all of the contributors in this forum for being such an excellent source of guidance and wisdom!! You guys are great. Any reservations I had coming into this business has all but dissapeared after reading all of the encouraging and helpful information. Now I can't wait to get out there and work! I think it is great that everyone is willing to help newbies like myself and share knowledge. Once again THANKS EVERYONE! :wink:
gold star wsr

24" crack repair?

Post by gold star wsr »

Lots of techs routinely repair long cracks like that. How they turn out, or what kind of guarantee they give, I suppose varies from one to another. The "recommended practices" that was developed a few years ago as guidelines for wsr sets the maximum length for cracks at 6". Insurance companies often ask if the crack can be covered with a dollar bill , which diagonally measures a little more than 6", but is still a good rule of thumb. I have done longer cracks, and they have been good repairs, structurally and visually. However, I simply dont like doing them, so I seldom do them.
cwrepair

Post by cwrepair »