Introduction and in need of serious help! Long post.

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
Mr.W
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Introduction and in need of serious help! Long post.

Post by Mr.W »

I wanted to say hello to all of you on here and thank you all so much for all of the help and information you so generously give. I’ve read tons of posts and I’ve learned a lot from you all already. I am new to this, I’ve been practicing on my own glass for about a month and I’ve gotten the hang of basic chip repairs. I make them using different methods and practice repairing them outside in whatever conditions are present at the time in hopes I can get diverse chips and conditions. I am a semi truck mechanic by trade and have been for the last fifteen years. I live in the Idaho Panhandle and we get a lot of snow. The roads are covered in gravel most of the winter and rock chips are extremely common. During a recent change of employment it came to my attention that our fleet has several rock chips in most windows. Our company has taken the approach of letting the windows get tons of chips and cracking during the winter and replacing them in the spring, mostly because no one is offering an affordable mobile service in the area. Mind you it’s pretty rural but we have a lot of industry requiring large fleets of semi trucks. I was looking to branch out in a side business to make extra income during the day because I work swing shift and everything kind of fell into place. I’ve run successful businesses in the past and from my research the demand is here to make this the perfect part time side job for me. On to the problem. I ran the idea by the boss and they were on board right away they asked me to fix a windshield the next night after work. I had my kit and after everyone left I pulled it into the shop. After inspection of the combination break I knew I was in trouble but this