So I'm Going to Start Repairing Windshields...

This forum is dedicated to sales, marketing, insurance, and other business development issues. Since this is a Windshield Repair sub forum, please continue to use the other forums on this board to discuss non-windshield repair related issues of any nature.
JWG

So I'm Going to Start Repairing Windshields...

Post by JWG »

Hello everyone!

My name is John, this is my first post.

I was a WSR technician for 2 years before I had to leave for more consistent money. With my current job I work in the evenings and have the flexibility to do repairs during the day. I was thinking about doing repairs from 8am-1pm on weekdays and setting up in a parking lot on Saturdays.

I have been doing some research and the things I need to do include:

Forming an LLC
Obtaining a tax ID number
Opening a company bank account
Obtaining $500k liability insurance
Getting set up with safelite, lynx, harmon, etc
Buying tools, resins, and invoices.

I have begun the LLC process and I have access to tools and resin.

I have some questions:

Do I need to use a 3rd party company to EID invoices, or can I just process the invoices myself and wait for the checks in the mail? Is the main reason people use factoring companies is the advance in payment?

Do I need any kind of certification to do insurance jobs? As I said, I was a repair tech but I also hired, trained, and fired contractors to work the 9 locations in my home market. None of us ever had any kind of certificate. Is there a need for any kind of certification?