I got a resin problem.

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
Jbrodie

I got a resin problem.

Post by Jbrodie »

The resin and the Mityvac I've been using for months isn't filling in the chips and cracks like they used too. Should I change my vicosity go to something thinner? The resin I'm using now is 20 cps vicosity.
In the last week I've switched over to using a thin resin to do these repairs. I've also gone back to using my reliable bridge and piston with a thin vicosity resin. Any ideas would be helpful.

Another question which cps represents a high vicosity and which is a low vicosity? I got an idea but i want to hear form you guys who knows there stuff to set it straight in my mind.
Frank EU
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Re: I got a resin problem.

Post by Frank EU »

I have no experience with the Mityvac but can answer the question related to cps - viscosity.
Are you sure that you're using the Mityvac in the right fashion, isn't there something blocked?
You need a vacuum for the resin to flow in right? Is there a vacuum in the damage?
Because the resin you are using, 20 cps, is not all that thick at all, you should be fine with the resin.
(Another problem could be: Are you sure that the resin is still fine and at 20cps? Has it been exposed to UV thus hardened? Before or during the repair process?)

Viscosity is the measurement of a fluid's internal resistance to flow.
The lower the number, the thinner the product, as a consequence, the higher the number, the thicker.
Water for example is 1 cps
Honey is 10.000 cps
Ketchup is 50.000 cps
Sour Cream is 100.000 cps

The above mentioned cps is at room temperatures.

CPS stands for Centipoise

Remember: you should always use the highest possible cps >in other words: the thickest possible resin.
Hope this helps a bit, good luck.
t4k

Post by t4k »