Suction cup marks?

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
nystire
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Suction cup marks?

Post by nystire »

Recently I did a windshield repair & noticed that my mirrors suction cup on the inside of the windshield left a suction cup ring mark.
I instructed the customer that it could be cleaned with some water & paper towels.
Not giving the customer a full explanation always bothers me.
I am a newbie having only repaired about 30 windshields with two months experience.
The explanation I found on another website forum was that
The suction cups are made from vinyl and the suns heat causes (out-gassing) this is the plasticizer evaporating.

Sounds like a great explanation for customers. Not sure if this is the real cause?
Customer paid & was very happy with the repairs. =)

Updating my kit with windshield cleaners & towels Any recommendations?

Up until this point I have used standard lint free paper towels & everything looked spotless.

Has anyone tried 1:1 solution of Isopropyl alcohol and distilled water?
Read that this removes windshield residue left from suction cups.
" Why Soitenly "
t4k
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Re: Suction cup marks?

Post by t4k »

Windex or any glass cleaner will remove these marks with a little elbow grease added in the mix.
Nomad

Post by Nomad »

Seems like this happens mostly when the W/S is hot or at least pretty warm. When I stick the UV shield to the hot roof to fix a chip that's high on the W/S and the roof is hot this will happen more often. A little spritz of cleaner and a scrub with a towel gets it off.
bill lambeth

Post by bill lambeth »

I use dawn dishwasher(liquid).I just squirt a little in my bottle with water. I ALWAYS clean mirror marks off the inside as well as clean the outside.Most of the time the inside mirror mark is the only way the customer can find the scar.I hope that helps!