Nasty State Farm rumor...

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
jgm0348
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Nasty State Farm rumor...

Post by jgm0348 »

Today I was talking to a State Farm agent and he told me that next year they will no longer be paying for WSR. They are starting to focus on deductible replacement. Has anyone heard of this?
Brent Deines
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Re: Nasty State Farm rumor...

Post by Brent Deines »

State Farm hasn't waived deductibles for about 10 years so the only states where that would make a difference is in the few that have zero deductibles for auto glass.
Brent Deines
Delta Kits, Inc.
jgm0348

Post by jgm0348 »

Brent I am new to the WSR business, so what does that mean. Does that mean I will not be able to charge against State Farm in Texas? I know that when I replaced my windshield Progressive made me pay the deductable.
Brent Deines

Post by Brent Deines »

No worries, I assumed that was the case. I'm not 100% sure if State Farm will waive the deductible for windshield repairs in Texas so hopefully a forum member from Texas will chime in and answer that question but I will attempt to explain how it works in most states.

Replacement: In most states there is a deductible that needs to be satisfied before an insurance company will pay for a windshield replacement. Some people have a $50 deductible on their comprehensive insurance while others may have a $100, $100, $500 or $1000 deductible. The higher your deductible the lower your insurance premium is and the more out of pocket expense you will have should you need to file a comprehensive claim with your insurance company. I like low rates so I have a $1000 deductible so when I have to replace my windshield I have to pay for it out of my pocket but if I had a $50 deductible I would pay the $50 and the insurance would pick up the balance.