Long Crack Repair with Delta kits

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
RCRNR
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Long Crack Repair with Delta kits

Post by RCRNR »

I am new to doing crack repair over 6 inches the company I worked for in the past would only let us terminate long cracks. I have an old car in my garage that has a crack the length of the windshield impact point being dead center. I attempted to practice on it the way I saw on the delta kits video for cracks but the crack only filled approx. 4 inches in each direction from the impact point I tried drop of resin just before it but it would not fill any further. How far will the resin fill a crack and do I need to drill a new hole every 5 inches to fill it. Also I have seen crack repair systems online made in Colorado was wondering if that would be a better option for longer cracks.
kennycrane
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Re: Long Crack Repair with Delta kits

Post by kennycrane »

I have done many of them up to 18-20 inches long, only if they are new I wont touch them if they have been there a while. I anchor them at the end of the crack and then I determine which end that I will start at. I do not want my resin to run downhill ahead of me so I try to work uphill filling the crack sometimes you will have to put pressure on the inside or use a crack expander to get the crack to fill. Never would I repair one in front of the drivers view. I have been very successful at doing those types of repairs, just have to let customer know that it is not a miracle.
Nomad
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Re: Long Crack Repair with Delta kits

Post by Nomad »