cooling down windshields

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
the guy
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Bad Repairwork

Post by the guy »

I am still pretty new in the profession and was interested in finding out some of the better methods of cooling a windshield to a decent temperature.
thanks
the guy
scratchy

cooling down windshields

Post by scratchy »

Throw a beach towel over the W/S and turn the airconditioner on defrost full blast for a few minutes while getting ready.
screenman

Post by screenman »

I am sure that the previous post meant for you to turn the aircon on full on the coolest setting I think some people may confuse maximum defrost with setting the aircon at the highest temperature.
33,000 + screen repairs over 18 years and still learning.
Over
GlassStarz

Post by GlassStarz »

Max cool probably isnt a good idea too quick a change will spread the break
A 50/50 alcohol spray away from the break will cool it combined with the air on will bring it to temp without being so harsh and quick. I cant tell you the number of times while working out of the carwash that the customer entered the wash with a small chip or crack only to come out with a huge crack

DUH tole ya ta git it fixxed bub and yup its to late now
Coitster

Post by Coitster »

I recommend getting yourself a EZ-UP Tent, and let the windshield cool down for 5 to 10 minutes before starting the repair. Thats what I do, best $200 bucks you will ever spend.
David
Coitster
Glass
Talbert

Post by Talbert »

EZ-UP's only $69.00 at Academy sports right now.
Mark

Post by Mark »