Newbie repair story

Posts from Old Forum (Pre August 2003)
Anonymous

re: Liquid Resins

Post by Anonymous »

This is the repair saga of a client who couldn't get the "Free" part as in Free windshield repair. I explained to the gentleman that his insurance company would waive his deductable and he wouldn't be charged more on his premium but he just wouldn't go for it.

Help me understand this delema: The guy's a millionaire and when he won't go for the free insurance repair he says the guy who did his wife's mercedes charged $20.00 and that's what he wants to pay me. (from my research that's the going rate around here)I asked $40.00

I'm new in this business and I want the job and can use the money so I say okay $20.00 bucks it is. I look at the job on his wife Merecedes and it's bad. You can feel it isn't sealed by running your finger over it and you can still see the fingers of a break. I try explaining to the gentleman that's what you get for $20 bucks but he stands firm.

I do the job,a small bulls eye on a brank new Chevy Avalanche and it comes out so damn good he can't find the repair from the outside. I also put some curing resin on the wifes car and cured it with the uv light. Wow he says, that's better.

So I have one very happy satisfied customer who tips me $5 and thanks me a least a half a dozen times.

Any ideas here r just go with it like I did?

I did give him a bunch of business cards to give his friends.

I'm guilty of breaking all sorts of GlasDoc's rules, especially about going cheap but dog gone it, i's better than just practicing on a piece of glass out in the barn. At least I have the experience of dealing with this particular type of customer and hey, $25 bucks is...well you know.

Roger
Anonymous

Newbie repair story

Post by Anonymous »

$25 bucks!

sometimes you just have to eat and pay the rent and 25.00 later your happy, maybe his friends will call you who knows?

that 25 paid for your travel and your time.
Anonymous