Flexing lines on breaks

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
tntglass
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Flexing lines on breaks

Post by tntglass »

Hello I'm new to the forum. I've been doing windshield repair for about 3 years on the side. I do not have much experience in this field but would like to gain knowledge. Here are my biggest questions. I use my truck windshield for practice and I create a star break about the size of a nickel or quarter. I flex the break before I start the repair and notice some hidden lines. I assume those are sub surface lines correct?

Next I clean the impact point and apply my kit and pull vacuum for about 2 minutes. Next I switch to pressure and examine the break. I notice most of the lines are filling in and I begin to flex around the injector and notice a few new lines. What is the correct way to make sure these hidden lines are filled properly? I repeat the vacuum/ pressure cycle for about 15-20 minutes.

I've heard heat with a lighter but never have done that. Does this work?

After I have cured and scraped excess resin, I flex near the impacted point and the hidden lines are still there. I am pressing very hard on the repair. Please any information would be helpful. If I'm not doing something correct please tell me. I'm open to constructive criticism. Thank you.
Auto Glass Rescue

Re: Flexing lines on breaks

Post by Auto Glass Rescue »

Hi and welcome :) I'm still also somewhat new to this, but I have to ask... Others would have asked this question, but I'll be the first - Have you had any prior training and what repair equipment do you use? The reason is you stated that your first cycle is a vacuum. With Delta Kits and their training, they recommend a pressure cycle first.

I'm sure others will be here shortly to ask more questions about you and give you more input on the other questions you asked.

Good luck and welcome aboard!