Alternative to capping a pit and it works

Post your windshield repair tips, questions, advice! Note there is a sub-forum specifically for business development questions.
sgearhart
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Alternative to capping a pit and it works

Post by sgearhart »

I am new at windshield repair but always try to improve how things are done. The first time I capped a pit like I learned in class the resin ended up blocking the cracked area when it was drilled out so the resin did not reach all of the cracks. I had a thought, so came home and tried it on an old practice windshield. I took a square curing tab and put double sided tape completely on the side pressing next to the glass. I then took the end of a paper clip and got it really hot so that I could burn a hole right in the middle of the curing tab that would be large enough for resin to get through. Pressing the curing tab to the glass pit using the pit finder tool and pressing down the double sided tape. I began the regular process of filling the pit with resin and it didn't leak out and filled up all of the crack lines. The only problem that I had was a half moon air pocket the size of a fingernail. I tried drilling into it and filling the air pocket, but it didn't work. Need to get the drilling down if anyone has any tips for me on that. This process may not work as good on the curved part of the windshield.
Dave M
Enter the middle number please (3): 5

Re: Alternative to capping a pit and it works

Post by Dave M »

I'm sorry, I don't understand this post!
sgearhart

Post by sgearhart »

If the surface area on the glass is larger than your injector seal it leaks out so you have to
Cap it with pit resin and cure it. Then you dill it and hope the resin reaches all the legs of the break.

I took a curing tab and placed double sided tape all over the back and burned a hole
Large enough for resin to flow by getting the end of a paperclip hot with a lighter. Now you have