Noise Noise and More Noise!

Discuss all aspects of headlight restoration, including marketing, technical, and business advice.
blemon56
Enter the middle number please (3): 3

Noise Noise and More Noise!

Post by blemon56 »

I recently started doing HLR in RV parks all over the US to supplement my WCR business. My problem... The Groits RO Sander is very noisey. In any given RV park, there are usually people next to and across from the Headlight job I'm doing. On nice days they are usually sitting outside. I'm still new at this so I'm sanding for at least an hour or more. Noise is an issue for my situation.

Is anyone using a differnt RO sander that's quieter than the Groits unit?

Thanks in advance for your replys.
ChipMech
WCR & HLR
Old Blue 66

Re: Noise Noise and More Noise!

Post by Old Blue 66 »

To the best of my knowledge, Griots is the ONLY 3" unit on the market (decent unit and the best no nonsense warranty). There is another one that our host used to sell but from what I understand is not of the highest quality. Im right there with you, if I could find another one Id give it a try.

This things is as slick as they come. SUPER QUIET. Not a RA though.
http://www.amazon.com/Makita-DA3010F-8- ... O/ref=pd_1
Paul Weinstein
blemon56

Post by blemon56 »

Old Blue 66... Are you using the Makita for HLR? I'm using the Groits because it came with the kit. I'm new at HLR and assumed that all are using an RO sander/polisher.
ChipMech
WCR & HLR
Old Blue 66

Post by Old Blue 66 »

blemon56 wrote:Old Blue 66... Are you using the Makita for HLR? I'm using the Groits because it came with the kit. I'm new at HLR and assumed that all are using an RO sander/polisher.